GitHub Copilot Business vs Claude Team for a dev team (2026)
Updated 2026-10-18 · 8 min read
| Tool | What it is | Pricing | Usage limits | Link |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| GitHub Copilot checked 2026-10-17 | AI assistant in VS Code/JetBrains + coding agent. Low-cost paid entry ($10 Pro) from a big vendor that works inside the editor you already use. | Free $0 (2,000 completions) · Pro $10 · Pro+ $39 · Max $100 per month; overage $0.01/AI credit source (opens in a new tab) | Free: 2,000 completions/mo + limited chat/agent. Pro: 1,500 AI credits/mo · Pro+: 7,000 · Max: 20,000. source (opens in a new tab) | Visit GitHub Copilot (opens in a new tab) |
| Claude Code checked 2026-10-17 | Terminal/IDE coding agent. A powerful agent that works across a whole repo from your terminal or desktop app. Great for agents and big refactors. | Included in Claude Pro $20 ($17/mo annual) · Max from $100 (5x or 20x Pro) source (opens in a new tab) | Rolling 5-hour session limit + weekly limit, shared with Claude chat. Max gives 5x/20x more per session than Pro. source (opens in a new tab) | Visit Claude Code (opens in a new tab) |
This page compares two team plans head-to-head. For every tool's team plan, with seat minimums and a cost calculator, see AI coding team plan costs. For training, retention and DPA terms, see AI coding tool data terms. Neither vendor is an affiliate partner, so every link here is a plain link.
Side by side (vendor pages, checked 18 Oct 2026)
| GitHub Copilot Business | Claude Team | |
|---|---|---|
| Seat price, billed monthly | “$19 USD per granted seat per month” | Standard: “$25 per member per month, billed monthly”. Premium: “$125 per member per month, billed monthly”. |
| Seat price, billed annually | Not stated on public pages (checked 18 Oct 2026). GitHub's licenses page lists Business as “$19 USD per user per month (billed monthly)”. | Standard: “$20 per member per month, billed annually”. Premium: “$100 per member per month, billed annually”. |
| Minimum seats | Not stated on public pages (checked 18 Oct 2026) | “Team plans require a minimum of two members.” |
| Maximum seats | Not stated on public pages (checked 18 Oct 2026) | “Team plans support up to 150 seats.” |
| What you're billed for | “billed for the number of assigned seats at the end of each monthly billing cycle” | “charged for the number of members on your team at the beginning of each billing cycle” |
| Adding a seat mid-cycle | “billed pro rata for those seats for the rest of the billing cycle”. Card or PayPal payers pay that prorated amount upfront. | “You will be charged the prorated amount immediately.” |
| Removing a seat mid-cycle | “billing for those seats continues until the end of the current billing cycle” | “You will not receive an immediate credit or refund.” |
| Included usage | 1,900 AI credits per user per month, “pooled at the billing entity level”. 1 AI credit = $0.01 USD. Code completions and next edit suggestions are not billed in credits and “remain unlimited”. | Per member, not pooled. A Standard seat gets 1.25x the Pro plan's per-session allowance and a Premium seat 6.25x, with weekly limits on top. The team also gets pooled API credits “capped at $500” a month. |
| When included usage runs out | Charged at $0.01 USD per AI credit. Additional usage “is enabled by default”. If an admin turns it off, usage “is blocked until the next billing cycle”. | Optional usage credits at standard API rates, or wait for the limit to reset. |
| When usage resets | The pool resets “at 00:00:00 UTC on the first day of each calendar month”. Unused credits don't carry over. | A rolling five-hour session window, plus weekly limits |
| Coding tools in the seat | “All plans include Copilot CLI and the Copilot app.” Credits cover Copilot Chat, Copilot CLI, Copilot cloud agent, Copilot Spaces, Spark and third-party coding agents. | “Claude Code is included in all paid plans. It shares the same usage limits as the rest of your plan.” |
| Taxes | Not stated on public pages (checked 18 Oct 2026) | “Prices shown are for US customers and exclude applicable taxes.” |
Sources: Plans for GitHub Copilot (GitHub Docs) (opens in a new tab), GitHub Copilot licenses (GitHub Docs) (opens in a new tab), Copilot seats and billing cycles for organizations (GitHub Docs) (opens in a new tab), Usage-based billing for organizations and enterprises (GitHub Docs) (opens in a new tab), GitHub Copilot plans and pricing (opens in a new tab); What is the Team plan? (Claude Help Center) (opens in a new tab), How is my Team plan bill calculated? (Claude Help Center) (opens in a new tab), Claude pricing (opens in a new tab).
The real difference: a shared pool vs per-person limits
- Copilot Business pools usage. GitHub's example is 100 Business users sharing “a shared pool of 190,000 AI credits rather than 100 individual buckets”. Heavy users draw more and light users offset them. Admins can cap spend with user, cost-center and organization budgets. GitHub usage-based billing (opens in a new tab)
- Claude Team limits each member. Limits apply per member over a five-hour window and a week. For a heavier user you buy a Premium seat or turn on usage credits. Seats are not pooled. The only pooled item is the monthly API credit balance, which tops out at $500. Claude Team plan (opens in a new tab)
- Overage is priced differently. Copilot charges a flat $0.01 per AI credit, and the number of credits each task uses depends on the model and tokens. Claude usage credits are billed at standard API rates. Neither vendor prices a typical developer's month, so this page doesn't estimate one.
Worked example: 5 and 15 seats
Uses only the list prices quoted above. Excludes taxes, any Copilot usage beyond the included pool, and any Claude usage credits.
| Plan | 5 seats | 15 seats |
|---|---|---|
| Copilot Business, per month | 5 × $19 = $95 | 15 × $19 = $285 |
| Copilot Business, 12 months (no annual price is published, so 12 × monthly) | 12 × $95 = $1,140 | 12 × $285 = $3,420 |
| Copilot pooled AI credits included each month | 5 × 1,900 = 9,500 credits (9,500 × $0.01 = $95 of usage) | 15 × 1,900 = 28,500 credits (28,500 × $0.01 = $285 of usage) |
| Claude Team Standard, billed monthly | 5 × $25 = $125 a month | 15 × $25 = $375 a month |
| Claude Team Standard, billed annually | 5 × $20 × 12 = $1,200 a year ($100 a month) | 15 × $20 × 12 = $3,600 a year ($300 a month) |
| Claude Team, all Premium, billed monthly | 5 × $125 = $625 a month | 15 × $125 = $1,875 a month |
| Claude Team, all Premium, billed annually | 5 × $100 × 12 = $6,000 a year | 15 × $100 × 12 = $18,000 a year |
Mixed example (Claude): 15 seats with 12 Standard and 3 Premium, billed monthly: 12 × $25 + 3 × $125 = $300 + $375 = $675 a month. Billed annually: (12 × $20 + 3 × $100) × 12 = $540 × 12 = $6,480 a year.
Anthropic's own billing example matches this method: 10 Standard seats billed monthly come to $250 ($25 × 10), and billed annually to $2,400 ($20 × 10 × 12). Claude Team billing (opens in a new tab)
To try your own seat mix, or to add other tools, use the team plan cost calculator.
Which fits your team
- Copilot Business if your team lives in GitHub and its IDEs, wants unlimited code completions, and wants one pool with admin budgets in place of per-person caps. Check the annual and seat-count questions with GitHub, because the public pages don't answer them.
- Claude Team if your developers want Claude Code in the terminal, you have at least 2 and at most 150 people, and you want to give heavy users Premium seats while light users stay on Standard. Annual billing lowers a Standard seat from $25 to $20.
- Both: some teams pay for both plans. The worked example shows each bill separately, so add them together if you do.
Related comparisons
- AI coding team plans: seat costs and minimums
- Claude Code pricing explained
- Cursor vs Claude Code
- Claude Code vs Codex
- AI coding tool data terms
- Not sure? Select your class in 3 questions
FAQ
How much does Copilot Business cost per seat compared with Claude Team?
Copilot Business is $19 USD per granted seat per month. A Claude Team Standard seat is $25 per member per month billed monthly, or $20 billed annually. A Premium seat is $125 or $100. These are the vendors' list prices, checked 18 Oct 2026. Anthropic says its prices are for US customers and exclude taxes.
Is there a minimum or maximum number of seats?
Claude Team requires a minimum of two members and supports up to 150 seats. GitHub's public Copilot pages don't state a minimum or maximum for Copilot Business (checked 18 Oct 2026).
Is Copilot Business cheaper if I pay annually?
GitHub doesn't publish an annual price for Copilot Business. Its licenses page lists Business at $19 USD per user per month, billed monthly. Claude Team does have an annual rate: $20 per Standard seat per month, instead of $25 billed monthly.
What happens when the team uses up its included usage?
On Copilot Business, extra usage is billed at $0.01 USD per AI credit and is on by default. If an admin turns it off, Copilot is blocked until the next monthly cycle. On Claude Team, each member's limits reset on a rolling five-hour window plus weekly limits, and the team can turn on optional usage credits at standard API rates.
How is a seat added mid-month billed?
GitHub bills an added Copilot seat pro rata for the rest of the billing cycle. A removed seat is still billed until the cycle ends. Anthropic charges the prorated amount for an added Claude Team seat immediately, and gives no immediate credit or refund when you remove a member.
Not sure? Select your class in 3 questions.
Get a main pick plus a backup for limit days.
Select your class