9 or $39 a seat?"> 9 or $39 a seat?"> 9 or $39 a seat?"> 9 or $39 a seat?">

GitHub Copilot Business vs Enterprise: what the extra $20 a seat buys a small team

Updated 2026-10-25 · 8 min read

Short version (GitHub pages, checked 25 Oct 2026): GitHub Copilot Business is $19 per granted seat a month with 1,900 AI credits per user. Copilot Enterprise is $39 with 3,900, and GitHub describes it as “Designed for enterprises using GitHub Enterprise Cloud”, which GitHub lists from $21 per user a month. In GitHub's docs feature tables the two plans are ticked the same on every row except GitHub Spark (public preview), which is Enterprise only. Enterprise also gets “Priority access to premium models”. The extra $20 a seat buys 2,000 more pooled credits, and extra credits on Business cost $0.01 each, which is also $20 per 2,000. So on our arithmetic Enterprise never costs less than GitHub Copilot Business plus pay-as-you-go credits; it only draws level when your team uses 3,900 or more credits per seat. Pick it for Spark, priority model access or Enterprise Cloud needs, not to save money on credits.
ToolWhat it isPricingUsage limitsLink
GitHub Copilot
checked 2026-10-17
AI assistant in VS Code/JetBrains + coding agent. Low-cost paid entry ($10 Pro) from a big vendor that works inside the editor you already use.Free $0 (2,000 completions) · Pro $10 · Pro+ $39 · Max $100 per month; overage $0.01/AI credit source (opens in a new tab)Free: 2,000 completions/mo + limited chat/agent. Pro: 1,500 AI credits/mo · Pro+: 7,000 · Max: 20,000. source (opens in a new tab)Visit GitHub Copilot (opens in a new tab)

This page compares GitHub's two organization plans for Copilot. For Free, Pro and Business see GitHub Copilot Free vs Pro vs Business. For GitHub Copilot Business against Claude Team see GitHub Copilot Business vs Claude Team. For training, retention and DPA terms see AI coding tool data terms. GitHub has no affiliate programme with us, so every link here is a plain link.

Plans side by side (GitHub pages, checked 25 Oct 2026)

GitHub Copilot BusinessGitHub Copilot Enterprise
Price“$19 USD per granted seat per month”“$39 USD per granted seat per month”
Annual priceNot stated on public pages (checked 25 Oct 2026)Not stated on public pages (checked 25 Oct 2026)
AI credits per user a month1,900, pooled3,900, pooled
Past the pool$0.01 per AI credit$0.01 per AI credit
Who GitHub says it's for“Made for organizations and enterprises”, with “centralized management and Copilot policy control for organization members”“Designed for enterprises using GitHub Enterprise Cloud”
Premium models“Access to premium models”“Priority access to premium models”
Models in the docs tableSame list as EnterpriseSame list as Business
Cloud agent, agent mode, code review, MCP, third-party agentsYesYes
Organization custom instructions, policy management, content exclusion, audit logsYesYes
Copilot CLI, the Copilot app, pull request summariesYesYes
GitHub Spark (public preview)NoYes
New features and modelsNot described“often allows earlier access to new features and models”
Seat minimumNot stated on public pages (checked 25 Oct 2026)Not stated on public pages (checked 25 Oct 2026)

Sources: prices, credits, the model and feature tick tables and the “for” wording come from Plans for GitHub Copilot (GitHub Docs) (opens in a new tab). The “earlier access” wording comes from Choosing your enterprise's plan for GitHub Copilot (GitHub Docs) (opens in a new tab). We also read the plan comparison data on GitHub Copilot plans and pricing (opens in a new tab): of the 45 comparison rows we found there, none is marked differently for Business and Enterprise. “Yes” and “No” mirror GitHub's own tick marks.

What Enterprise adds, in GitHub's words

  • More credits: GitHub says Enterprise “includes all the features of Copilot Business, offers a larger monthly pool of AI credits, plus additional enterprise-grade capabilities.” GitHub Docs (opens in a new tab)
  • Earlier and priority access: Enterprise “often allows earlier access to new features and models”, and the plans page lists “Priority access to premium models” against Business's “Access to premium models”. GitHub doesn't say how much earlier or what priority means in practice.
  • GitHub Spark: the only feature row in the docs tables ticked for Enterprise and not for Business. It is marked public preview.
  • What's the same: both plans have the same model list in the docs table, and both are ticked for the cloud agent, agent mode, Copilot code review, MCP, organization custom instructions, policy management, content exclusion and audit logs.

The GitHub Enterprise Cloud question

GitHub's plan guide says it “offers two Copilot plans for customers on GitHub Enterprise Cloud”, and the plans page describes Copilot Enterprise as “Designed for enterprises using GitHub Enterprise Cloud”. GitHub Docs: choosing a plan (opens in a new tab) GitHub's pricing page lists the Enterprise plan as “Starting at $21 USD per user/month”, and Team as $4 per user a month. The page also shows a “for the first 12 months” note next to those prices, and the footnote wasn't in the page text we fetched, so check github.com/pricing (opens in a new tab) for the current terms. If your team is on GitHub Free or Team today, budget for that platform cost on top of the Copilot seat before comparing.

If you already use Enterprise Cloud, GitHub notes that “you can choose a plan individually for each organization in your enterprise”, so one organization can pilot Copilot Enterprise while the rest stay on Business. GitHub Docs (opens in a new tab)

Break-even: is Enterprise cheaper than paying for extra credits?

GitHub's own guide says to treat the Business credits “as a baseline, not a limit”, and that “Depending on consumption patterns, the most cost effective approach is either to upgrade users to Copilot Enterprise or to allow additional usage beyond the included pool with appropriate budget controls.” It adds that “By default, usage can continue beyond the included pool, with additional usage charged at $0.01 USD per AI credit.” GitHub Docs (opens in a new tab)

Our arithmetic on those list prices, for one team all on the same plan, before tax and leaving out the Enterprise Cloud fee:

  • Enterprise costs $20 more per seat and adds 2,000 credits per seat to the pool. 2,000 credits at $0.01 is also $20.
  • If your team uses 1,900 credits or fewer per seat on average, Business costs $20 a seat less, because nothing is spent past the pool.
  • Between 1,900 and 3,900 per seat, Business plus extra credits still costs less, and the gap shrinks to zero as usage reaches 3,900.
  • At 3,900 or more per seat, the two cost the same, because every credit past either pool is $0.01.

So on credits alone Enterprise never comes out cheaper. It makes sense when you want Spark, earlier or priority access, or you're on Enterprise Cloud anyway and prefer a fixed seat price to a usage bill. Code completions don't count: GitHub says “Code completions and next edit suggestions are not billed in AI credits”. GitHub plans FAQ (opens in a new tab)

Worked example: 5 and 15 developers

Our arithmetic, using only the list prices and credit totals quoted above. Excludes taxes. GitHub publishes no annual Copilot price, so 12-month figures are 12 × the monthly price. The Enterprise Cloud line assumes those developers are the only Enterprise Cloud users and uses the “Starting at” price.

5 developers15 developers
GitHub Copilot Business, per month5 × $19 = $95, pool 9,500 credits15 × $19 = $285, pool 28,500 credits
Copilot Enterprise, per month5 × $39 = $195, pool 19,500 credits15 × $39 = $585, pool 58,500 credits
Business if the team uses 15,000 credits (5 devs) or 45,000 (15 devs)$95 + (15,000 − 9,500) × $0.01 = $150$285 + (45,000 − 28,500) × $0.01 = $450
Business at Enterprise-sized usage (19,500 / 58,500 credits)$95 + 10,000 × $0.01 = $195, the same as Enterprise$285 + 30,000 × $0.01 = $585, the same as Enterprise
Add Enterprise Cloud if you don't have it5 × $21 = $105, so $195 + $105 = $30015 × $21 = $315, so $585 + $315 = $900
12 months, Business vs Enterprise (seats only)$1,140 vs $2,340$3,420 vs $7,020

The usage figures are examples to show the arithmetic, not measurements of real teams. Your own number is in the AI usage dashboard in your enterprise billing settings, which GitHub points to for this decision.

If you already pay for Copilot or other AI tools across a team and want someone to go through the actual invoices, that's what our AI bill review does. To price several tools side by side yourself, use the team plan cost calculator.

FAQ

What's the difference between GitHub Copilot Business and Enterprise?

Business is $19 per granted seat a month with 1,900 AI credits per user; Enterprise is $39 with 3,900. GitHub's docs tick both plans for the same models and the same agent, customization and admin features, except GitHub Spark (public preview), which is Enterprise only. Enterprise also lists priority access to premium models and often gets new features and models earlier (checked 25 Oct 2026).

Do I need GitHub Enterprise Cloud for Copilot Enterprise?

GitHub describes Copilot Enterprise as designed for enterprises using GitHub Enterprise Cloud, and its plan guide presents Business and Enterprise as the two Copilot plans for Enterprise Cloud customers. GitHub's pricing page lists Enterprise Cloud from $21 per user a month, so check that cost if you're on GitHub Free or Team today.

Is Copilot Enterprise cheaper than paying for extra credits on Business?

Not on list prices. Enterprise adds $20 a seat for 2,000 extra pooled credits, and extra credits on Business cost $0.01 each, so 2,000 of them also cost $20. On our arithmetic Business plus extra credits costs less until average use reaches 3,900 credits per seat, and the same after that.

Do Business and Enterprise get the same AI models?

Yes, according to GitHub's docs table, which ticks the same model list for both plans. The difference GitHub lists is priority access to premium models on Enterprise.

How much does Copilot Enterprise cost for 5 or 15 developers?

At $39 per granted seat a month: 5 × $39 = $195 and 15 × $39 = $585, before tax and any usage past the pooled credits. Business would be $95 and $285. If you also need GitHub Enterprise Cloud at its starting price of $21 per user, add $105 or $315.

Can some of our organizations use Enterprise and others Business?

Yes, on GitHub Enterprise Cloud. GitHub says you can choose a plan individually for each organization in your enterprise, which lets you pilot Copilot Enterprise in one organization first.

Not sure? Select your class in 3 questions.

Get a main pick plus a backup for limit days.

Select your class
Patch Notes · weekly

What changed in AI coding tools this week, and what it does to your bill

One five-minute email a week. New agents and models, plus every price, seat and limit change for Claude Team, GitHub Copilot Business and the rest. No spam.

  • GitHub Copilot Business is setting the features you never configured to your global default (rollout through 26 Oct).
  • GitHub Copilot's usage metrics API now shows which tools send its model requests: Claude Code, Codex, OpenCode and more.
  • GitHub Copilot deprecated six models on 19 Oct. Enterprise admins may need to enable the suggested replacements.

one email a week. what shipped, what it costs your team, in 5 minutes. unsubscribe anytime.

We store your email only to send Patch Notes, and may move the list to a newsletter provider (beehiiv). Unsubscribe any time by emailing aicoderclass@gmail.com. More in our disclosure.